Adam Mickiewicz University
  • Established: 1519
  • Students: 36000
  • Programs: 20 +
Adam Mickiewicz University – Uniwersytet im. Adama Mickiewicza w Poznaniu traces its origins to 1611 when under the Royal Charter granted by King Sigismund III Vasa, the Jesuit College became the first university in Poznań. The Poznań Society for the Advancement of Arts and Sciences which played an important role in leading Poznań to its reputation as a chief intellectual center during the Age of Positivism and partitions of Poland initiated the founding of the university.
The inauguration ceremony of the newly founded institution took place on 7 May 1919 that is 308 years after it was formally established by the Polish king and on the 400th anniversary of the foundation of the Lubrański Academy which is considered its predecessor. Its original name was Piast University (Polish: Wszechnica Piastowska), which later in 1920 was renamed to University of Poznań (Polish: Uniwersytet Poznański). During World War II staff and students of the university opened an underground Polish University of the Western Lands (Polish: Uniwersytet Ziem Zachodnich). In 1955 the University of Poznań adopted a new patron, the 19th-century Polish Romantic poet Adam Mickiewicz, and changed to its current name. The university is organized into six principal academic units—five research schools consisting of twenty faculties and the doctoral school—with campuses throughout the historic Old Town and Morasko. The university employs roughly 4,000 academics and has more than 40,000 students who study in some 80 disciplines. More than half of the student body are women. The language of instruction is usually Polish, although several degrees are offered in either German or English. The university library is one of Poland’s largest, and houses one of Europe’s largest Masonic collections, including the 1723 edition of James Anderson’s The Constitutions of the Free-Masons. Due to its history, the university is traditionally considered Poland’s most reputable institution of higher learning, this standing equally being reflected in national rankings. Adam Mickiewicz University is a member of the European University Association, EUCEN, SGroup European Universities’ Network, Compostela Group of Universities, and EPICUR.
( Adam Mickiewicz University / adam mickiewicz university address / adam mickiewicz university english courses / adam mickiewicz university admission / adam mickiewicz university poznan )

Programs of Studies at Adam Mickiewicz University

School of Natural Sciences

Faculty of Biology

Faculty of Geographic and Geological Sciences

School of Exact Sciences

Faculty of Chemistry

Faculty of Physics

Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science

School of Social Sciences

Faculty of Human Geography and Planning

Faculty of Political Science and Journalism

Faculty of Law and Administration

Faculty of Psychology and Cognitive Science

Faculty of Sociology

Faculty of Educational Studies

School of Humanities

Faculty of Anthropology and Cultural Studies

Faculty of Archeology

Faculty of Philosophy

Faculty of History

Faculty of Arts Studies

Faculty of Theology

School of Languages and Literatures

Faculty of English

Faculty of Polish and Classical Philology

Faculty of Modern Languages and Literature

Doctoral School of Adam Mickiewicz University

All courses taught at Adam Mickiewicz University are available at the Ph.D. level at the Doctoral School of Adam Mickiewicz University